Bored Baking

Hello! So I am all set up in my lovely new house… except we have limited internet access until our box arrives on the 23rd. A bit annoying but oh well. In the mean time I am trying to be more present and do things I haven’t done for a while. I finally started “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” by Neil Gaiman today which I borrowed off my Mum weeks ago. I also decided to do a wee bit of baking this evening which I haven’t done much of lately.

tumblr_n87jj0UoD71qliczno1_500

Tah Dah! I made more than shown but they went down a treat and these were the only ones left! I found a pretty basic recipe online then just modified it to make it work with what I had in my kitchen. They were also vegan which is a bonus, meaning my housemate could enjoy them too!

Here’s the recipe I used:

- 225g (8oz) of Pure dairy free spread (any spread or butter would work)                               - 110g (4oz) Sugar (I just used regular sugar but you could use caster sugar)                       - 275g (10oz) Plain Flour

Preheat the oven to 170oC (375oF or gas mark 3). Cream the spread until it’s soft. Mix in the sugar until it’s nice and combined and kinda fluffy. Sieve in the flour then get in there with your hands and mix until you form a nice dough.

I used a cookie cutter so I took bits of dough and flattened them with my hand before pressing in the cutter. You could just form small balls and slightly flatten them, whatever you prefer really! Then transfer your cookies to a baking tray with baking paper on. bake for 15-20 minutes then leave to cool on  a cooling rack until you can wait no longer!

You could make the recipe more interesting by adding chocolate chips, vanilla, cinnamon or even jelly beans!

tumblr_n87jmxfr8w1qliczno1_500

I used this awesome Gingerdead Men cookie cutter to make the shapes. I brought this ages ago at the shop I used to work in but only now got around to giving it a go! The idea id you use one side to cut the man shape out the you flip the cutter over and press the other side into the dough to create the skeleton imprint. I am obsessed with skulls, bones and creepy things but also baking so this was totally up my street!

tumblr_n87jl9IVKR1qliczno1_500

The imprint didn’t come out as well as I had hoped but I think that’s mainly down to the thinness of my cookies and forgetting to put flour on the cutter to stop it sticking. Overall I loved it! They made pretty big cookies, which in my mind is always a good thing. You can make out the skeleton imprint and I mean come on- how freaking cool is it???!!! I would recommend this cookie cutter to anyone who wants to bring a bit of spook to their baking.

tumblr_n87jpiIP1n1qliczno1_500

Best of all they taste great! For such a simple recipe they are super yummy. I think Oli and Sonera wanted to eat them all! The Pure spread worked really well as it has a slightly sweet taste anyway. Because I used regular sugar not caster sugar the cookies had a lovely texture and a bit of crunch. I see these cookies becoming a regular fixture in our house!

Leave a Reply

